EN

Phantom Blade Zero: PC or PS5?

Buy it on PC if your graphics card meets Steam’s recommended tier: PC gets the highest frame rates, and path tracing, which only the PC specs list. On console, a PS5 Pro is the better box; on a base PS5, play in Performance mode.

Which one is yours

PC
If your card is an RTX 3060 Ti or RX 6700 XT, or betterHighest frame rates, ray tracing and path tracing, DLSS 4.5. About 145 GB on an SSD.
PS5 Pro
If you play on a TV and want the best console pictureThree graphics modes: Quality, Balanced and Performance. Balanced runs at 40 fps in dynamic 4K with ray tracing.
PS5
Fine, in Performance modeChoose Performance before the first fight. The Graphical mode struggles to hold its frame rate.
On this page 5 sections
  1. Every graphics mode, by frame rate
  2. PC, PS5 and PS5 Pro side by side
  3. Controllers, voices, saves and Xbox
  4. What is not yet known
  5. Phantom Blade Zero PC or PS5 FAQ

Every graphics mode, by frame rate

Each platform below lists its ways to play, fastest first. The bar is the frame rate, out of 100 fps. Only PC goes past 60 fps, and only the PS5 Pro has reported frame rates for its console modes.

Solid bar, white figure: a target S-GAME or Steam publishes. Hollow bar, grey figure: what reviewers saw on the pre-launch build, 25 to 27 October. “––”: no reviewer gave a number.

PS5Base console

PerformanceUse this one

The mode reviewers on a base PS5 played in. It ran smoothly for one; another saw slowdowns in combat even with ray tracing off.

–– no frame rate reported

GraphicalSkip it

One reviewer moved off it because it “struggled a little with frame rates”.

–– no frame rate reported

PS5 ProPS5 Pro Enhanced

60 fpsPerformance

Mostly holds 60 with the extra ray tracing option on. Drops in some boss fights and in the heavy rain of Pangzhen.

60 fps, mostly held

40 fpsBalanced

Dynamic 4K with ray tracing, with “very few and very minor stutters”.

40 fps

QualityNot measured

Listed as a mode; no review we read played in it.

–– no frame rate reported

PCSteam and Epic

100 fpsAbout · 4K High, RTX 4080

With DLSS Quality. Ray tracing brings it to the high 50s, path tracing to about 30.

about 100 fps

60 fps4K path tracing

RTX 5080, with upscaling.

60 fps target

60 fps1440p recommended

RTX 3060 Ti / RX 6700 XT, with upscaling.

60 fps target

30 fps1080p minimum

GTX 1660 / RX 5500 XT, with upscaling.

30 fps target

No review we read gives a resolution for any base PS5 mode, or a frame rate for the PS5 Pro’s Quality mode. Every review was written before the day-one patch, which on PC improves ray tracing and path tracing performance; read the hollow rows as the week before launch. The full PC tiers are on our PC requirements page, and each review’s platform notes on our reviews page.

PC, PS5 and PS5 Pro side by side

What changes with the platform you buy on, read 29 October 2026
ItemPCPS5PS5 Pro
Price (US)$59.99 Standard, $69.99 Digital DeluxeThe sameThe same
Download sizeAbout 145 GB; keep 300 GB free for the pre-load, on an SSDNot announced; a tracker reports 134.857 GB unconfirmedAs PS5
Graphics modesYour own settings; DLSS 4.5 Super Resolution and Multi Frame GenerationPerformance, which reviewers use, and a Graphical modeQuality, Balanced and Performance
Above 60 fpsYes: about 100 fps at 4K High on an RTX 4080No mode reportedNo mode reported
Ray tracingYes: an official tier, RTX 5060 for 1080p at 60 fpsAn option; one reviewer saw slowdowns even with it offYes: on in Balanced, an option in Performance
Path tracingYes: an official tier, RTX 5080 for 4K at 60 fpsNot in any reported modeNot in any reported mode
Before you playOn NVIDIA, roll back to driver 617.42Switch to Performance modePick Balanced or Performance
Away from the TVSteam Deck: unrated, under 30 fps at the lowest settingsNo review tested itOne reviewer played on PlayStation Portal and found it “perfectly fine”

On an NVIDIA card, use driver 617.42 before you play; why is on our PC requirements page. Editions and regional prices are on our editions and price page; download sizes and the pre-load on our pre-load page.

On the Steam Deck, skip it for now: reviewers report it cannot hold 30 fps even at the lowest settings, and Valve has not rated it.

Controllers, voices, saves and Xbox

Play with a controller on either platform. The Steam page lists full controller support, recommends a gamepad and lists DualSense and DualShock support. On PS5, S-GAME’s features trailer shows the DualSense’s haptic feedback and adaptive triggers, and 3D audio.

Voices are the same on both: full voice-over in English and in Simplified Chinese, which is Mandarin, with subtitles in 15 languages.

Your save does not move between PS5 and PC: cross-save has not been announced. On PC, Steam Cloud keeps your save between computers. The game is single-player only, so there is no cross-play to miss.

There is no Xbox version. PlayStation’s footnote says the game is “Not available on other consoles until at least 12 months after release date”, so no other console before late October 2027. More on our open world, multiplayer and Xbox page.

What is not yet known

The items below are not stated by S-GAME or measured by any review we read as of 29 October 2026.

  • Resolution of each PS5 modeNo review we read gives a number for the base PS5. On PS5 Pro, only Balanced is described: dynamic 4K.
  • Frame rate of the PS5 Pro’s Quality modeNot reported.
  • Whether the base PS5 has a Balanced modeReviews of the base PS5 name only Performance and a Graphical mode.
  • What the day-one patch changes on PS5S-GAME’s note covers ray tracing and path tracing on PC.
  • Cross-save between PS5 and PCNot announced.
  • Install size on PS5Not announced. The PC size is official: about 145 GB.

Phantom Blade Zero PC or PS5 FAQ

Can I play Phantom Blade Zero on PC with a controller?

Play with a controller on either platform. The Steam page lists full controller support, recommends a gamepad and lists DualSense and DualShock support.

Does Phantom Blade Zero have Chinese voices on PS5 and PC?

Voices are the same on both: full voice-over in English and in Simplified Chinese, which is Mandarin, with subtitles in 15 languages.

Does Phantom Blade Zero have cross-save between PS5 and PC?

Your save does not move between PS5 and PC: cross-save has not been announced. On PC, Steam Cloud keeps your save between computers.

Is Phantom Blade Zero on Xbox?

There is no Xbox version. PlayStation’s footnote says the game is “Not available on other consoles until at least 12 months after release date”, so no other console before late October 2027.

Can I play Phantom Blade Zero on Steam Deck?

On the Steam Deck, skip it for now: reviewers report it cannot hold 30 fps even at the lowest settings, and Valve has not rated it.

Sources for this page 14
  1. Key points and Which one is yours Official Steam store page: recommended tier, price ($59.99), controller support and Steam Cloud, read 29 October 2026.
  2. Every graphics mode, by frame rate Press-reported TechRadar review on PS5 Pro, 27 October 2026: “Quality, Balanced, or Performance mode”; Balanced at “40 frames per second (fps) in dynamic 4K with ray tracing”; played briefly on PlayStation Portal, “a perfectly fine way to run the game”.
  3. Every graphics mode, by frame rate Press-reported Push Square review on PS5 Pro, 26 October 2026: Performance Mode “with an additional ray tracing option toggled on”, “very smoothly at 60 frames-per-second”, drops in certain boss battles.
  4. Every graphics mode, by frame rate Press-reported Insider Gaming review on PS5 Pro, 26 October 2026: three graphical modes; frame-rate drops in the Pangzhen region during heavy rainfall.
  5. Every graphics mode, by frame rate Press-reported TheGamer review on base PS5, 25 October 2026: played on Performance Mode “because Graphical Mode struggled a little with frame rates”.
  6. Every graphics mode, by frame rate Press-reported TheSixthAxis on base PS5, 26 October 2026, Performance mode running smoothly; Notebookcheck, 26 October 2026, for Creative Bloq’s PS5 slowdowns and Wccftech’s RTX 4080 figures.
  7. Every graphics mode, by frame rate Official S-GAME system requirements page, 12 August 2026: ray tracing (RTX 5060, 1080p / 60) and path tracing (RTX 5080, 2160p / 60) tiers, with upscaling.
  8. PC, PS5 and PS5 Pro side by side Official S-GAME on Steam, “Reason and Madness”, 28 October 2026: NVIDIA driver 617.42 over 621.01; day-one patch about 5 GB.
  9. PC, PS5 and PS5 Pro side by side Official S-GAME on Steam, “Ready your blade!”, 26 October 2026: about 145 GB on PC, 300 GB free for the pre-load. Unconfirmed PlayStation Game Size on X, 16 October 2026, for 134.857 GB on PS5.
  10. PC, PS5 and PS5 Pro side by side Official NVIDIA GeForce news, 13 August 2026: DLSS 4.5 Super Resolution and Multi Frame Generation.
  11. PC, PS5 and PS5 Pro side by side Press-reported Steam Deck HQ, 25 October 2026; Official Steam Deck compatibility report, no rating.
  12. Controllers, voices, saves and Xbox Press-reported GamingBolt, 18 August 2026, on S-GAME’s PS5 features trailer: haptic feedback, adaptive triggers, 3D audio.
  13. Controllers, voices, saves and Xbox Official State of Play end card, PlayStation on YouTube, 19:49: “*Also available on PC. Not available on other consoles until at least 12 months after release date.”
  14. Controllers, voices, saves and Xbox Store data PlayStation Store and Steam store pages: voice and subtitle languages, PS5 Pro Enhanced, single-player.