Is Phantom Blade Zero souls like?
No. Whether you write it souls like, soulslike or souls-like, the director says Phantom Blade Zero is “neither a Soulslike game nor a traditional action game”. It borrows soulslike level design and checkpoint bells, but fights at a faster pace, offers four difficulty modes and, outside Sixty-Six Days mode, takes nothing from you when you die.

It is still called hard: IGN found it hard “even at the default setting”, while PC Gamer found that even the hardest regular mode “doesn’t feel as hard as, say, Nioh”. The game came out on 29 October 2026.
People write the question three ways: souls like, soulslike and souls-like. Steam’s player tag is Souls-like. The answer is the same for all of them.
| Souls like? | No. Souls like, soulslike, souls-like and Souls-like are the same question. The director says it is “neither a Soulslike game nor a traditional action game”. |
|---|---|
| Like Black Myth: Wukong? | No. Both are single-player Chinese action RPGs from different studios. Phantom Blade Zero came out on 29 October 2026. Black Myth: Wukong came out on 20 August 2024. The line-by-line comparison is on the vs page. |
| What it borrows | Layered levels with shortcuts, and bells that work as checkpoints. Liang’s own word for the level design is “Soulslite”. |
| What it drops | No XP and no “souls” to lose; defeated enemies stay dead when you respawn at a bell, though they “apparently will respawn if you leave a zone entirely”. |
| Difficulty modes | Wayfarer, Pathbreaker, Hellwalker and 66 Days, shown on the in-game menu. |
| Easy mode | Wayfarer: “A gentler path through the Wulin.” |
| On Steam | Genre: Action, RPG. Players’ tags include Souls-like and Hack and Slash. |
Is Phantom Blade Zero a soulslike? What the developers say
In June 2025 the game’s official X account posted a developer’s letter from Liang. As quoted by Insider Gaming, it says: “When Phantom Blade Zero was first announced, people thought it was a ‘Soulslike.’ Later, after we released some combat demo, people noticed that the pace was clearly much faster than Soulslike titles—it must be a ‘hack and slash’ game like Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden”. Push Square quotes the reason for the first impression: “interconnected maps, hidden secrets, and those sigh-of-relief checkpoints.”
“Phantom Blade Zero is neither a Soulslike game nor a traditional action game.”
He has said the same in interviews, each time naming what the game takes from soulslikes and what it leaves out:
- To RPG Site, December 2025: the team is “merging archetypes together”: on one side soulslikes, from which “We borrow some part of the, like, level designs and some art style”; on the other, “hack-and-slash classics, like Devil May Cry, Ninja Gaiden, or Metal Gear Rising”. On level design: “we want to call the game a ‘Soulslite’.”
- To Inverse, August 2025: “We extracted that multilayered map design and hidden objects in the corners, and side stories – all these are good. But we got rid of the overintricate map that can make players get lost, or the difficulty.”
- To PC Gamer, August 2025: “Nowadays there are too many Souls games,” with the aim of a new subgenre, “a kung fu action game.”
- To Gamersky, July 2024, in Chinese: the game puts the fast combat of traditional action games inside soulslike-style hand-built levels, with a simplified soulslike map of loops and locked doors and a faster pace. Asked whether it would make players suffer, he answered firmly that it would not (our translation).
Is it a soulslike? What previews say
Writers who played it mostly agree with the developer, with one or two caveats.
| Outlet | What it says |
|---|---|
| But Why Tho, October 2024 | “is not a Soulslike title, though one can be forgiven for having that thought” |
| PC Gamer, August 2025 | “And it's really not a Soulslike”, while noting “a Dark Souls-like interconnected world to explore” |
| IGN, 2025 hands-on | “It’s not stamina-based combat in the strict Soulslike sense” |
| Geek Culture, August 2026 | “the game isn’t a soulslike, but instead more of an action-adventure title like Devil May Cry” |
| Game Rant, October 2026 | Groups it with “Soulslike-adjacent titles, which take heavy inspiration from the genre while also offering distinct mechanics” |
| Game Informer, October 2026 | “I hesitate to place the game in the Souls-like genre – it seems generally more forgiving – but the level layout recalls that structure” |
| Steam players | The user-defined tags include Souls-like, beside Action RPG and Hack and Slash. |
What does it borrow from soulslikes?
Bells as checkpoints. IGN rang “a small bell suspended from a short wooden stand”; it revealed part of the map and “also functions as a respawn area and fast travel point, similar to a bonfire from Dark Souls.” Game Rant adds that at these bells “players can regain health and upgrade Soul's abilities via a packed skill tree.”

Connected levels. Game Rant describes regions “filled with branching paths that are connected via unlockable shortcuts”, and says S-GAME “has openly stated” that the level design is “heavily inspired by Soulslikes”.
Learnable bosses on normal difficulty. Of the boss Huangxing, Liang told PC Gamer magazine: “In normal difficulty, he has some of the Souls-like elements to him: he has fixed combos, and if you fight him enough times, you'll figure out his combos.”
What is different from a soulslike?
Side by side with the genre’s usual habits, as Wikipedia’s Soulslike article describes them:
| Habit | In a typical soulslike | In Phantom Blade Zero |
|---|---|---|
| Dying | “Other losses (such as experience or currency) are potentially recoverable.” | There is no XP, and “you don't lose anything upon death”. |
| Checkpoints | Respawn or recovery points, and “resting at them may reset enemies”. | Bells. After you respawn at one, “everyone I’ve defeated remains dead”; enemies “apparently will respawn if you leave a zone entirely”. |
| Stamina | Players “monitor stamina to avoid overexertion of their character”. | Light attacks and dodges do not drain the Sha-Chi meter; heavy attacks and blocking do. |
| Difficulty | “Soulslike games typically have a high level of difficulty.” | Hard “even at the default setting”, with four modes on the menu, including the story-first Wayfarer. |
| Parry | In Sekiro, combat means “deflecting incoming enemy attacks, eventually leading to an opening that allows for a single killing blow”. | “The timing's easier to land than a Sekiro parry even on the harder ‘Hellwalker’ difficulty”. |
Soulslike column: Wikipedia, Soulslike and Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, read 20 October 2026. Phantom Blade Zero column:
- No XP. “There is no XP”, so “there are no ‘souls’ to pick back up or risk losing when you die”. You get stronger through weapons and items.
- Defeated enemies stay dead. After respawning at a bell, IGN found that “everyone I’ve defeated remains dead”. PC Gamer adds that they “apparently will respawn if you leave a zone entirely”.
- No stamina bar in the usual sense. Light attacks and dodges do not drain the Sha-Chi meter; heavy attacks and blocking do.
- A wider parry window. PC Gamer: “The timing's easier to land than a Sekiro parry even on the harder ‘Hellwalker’ difficulty”.
- Boss checkpoints. “two-phase bosses don't force you to repeat the first phase if you fall during the second.”
- Difficulty modes. Four, described below.
Is Phantom Blade Zero hard?
Hard enough to kill previewers often, but not built around suffering. IGN: “even at the default setting that I played at, Phantom Blade 0 is hard, and I loved that about it. It never felt cheap; it just demanded more from me.”
PC Gamer’s writer found that “Even Hellwalker doesn't feel as hard as, say, Nioh”. Combat director Qianli Ma told him: “If you want to beat it in a mediocre, not-as-beautiful way, it's pretty achievable. But if you want to do it in a very beautiful manner, that's the difficult aspect.”
DualShockers calls the game “hard” but not “overly punitive”, with one complaint: “almost every boss demands the exact same core execution: mastering parry timing.”
After finishing the game on Hellwalker, the hardest setting open on a first playthrough, Fextralife’s reviewer found the opposite problem: the curve “gets easier and easier as you progress”, and he beat the last 10 to 12 bosses, the final one included, on the first try. His reasons are the rules themselves: enemies do not respawn, resting at a bell does not bring them back, a boss keeps the phases you have already cleared, and death costs nothing.
Chinese previews say the same. Gamersky found the timing window for the special attacks not as strict as feared, and a Zhihu Games writer’s six-hour preview, reposted on gcores reports Liang stressing that the combat is not meant to test depth and execution ceilings but to show a visual style never seen before, with the controls kept at a moderate level (our translations).
Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes
The State of Play deep dive of August 2026 shows the difficulty menu with four entries, in this order: WAYFARER, PATHBREAKER, HELLWALKER, 66 DAYS. The narration introduces them as “difficulty options as distinct ways to experience the story.”

| Mode | Official description | Also reported |
|---|---|---|
| Wayfarer | Menu: “A gentler path through the Wulin. Focus on the story, take in the world, fight at your own pace.” Narration: “‘Wayfarer’ mode is intuitive and cinematic, letting anyone feel like a kungfu master.” | The PlayStation Blog: “If you’d simply like to enjoy the story, Wayfarer mode is for you.” |
| Pathbreaker | Named on the menu. Its description is not shown in the footage: the cursor never rests on it. | GamingBolt places it as the next step after Wayfarer. |
| Hellwalker | Menu: “The ultimate trial. Enemies strike without mercy, adapt without warning, and hold nothing back.” Narration: it “brings in core fighting game mechanics. Bosses won’t rely on fixed patterns. They react to your spacing, punish your whiffs, and adapt to your habits in real time.” | The PlayStation Blog: “more advanced and adaptive enemy intelligence”. |
| 66 Days (Sixty-Six Days) | Menu: “Hellwalker difficulty, with one added rule: you have only 66 lives. Unlocks after completing PATHBREAKER or HELLWALKER.” Narration: “It features the intensity of ‘Hellwalker,’ but every defeat cost you precious time. If the clock hits zero, it is permanent death.” | A counter of 66 drops on each death; the run ends at zero. RPGFan says it unlocks after finishing the game; GamingBolt names a Hellwalker or Pathbreaker clear, which matches the menu. |
The menu writes “66 DAYS” and counts “66 lives”; the PlayStation Blog and the narration write “Sixty-Six Days” and speak of time. The full rules of that mode, and the story’s sixty-six days, are on Is there a 66-day time limit?
Does Phantom Blade Zero have an easy mode?
Yes: Wayfarer is the story-first mode, “A gentler path through the Wulin”. Whether you can switch to it in the middle of a playthrough is not stated in any source we read.
Earlier and differing accounts
The menu text settles how 66 Days unlocks: after completing Pathbreaker or Hellwalker.
The line-up itself has changed over time. Push Square, reporting Liang’s June 2025 letter, says that demo build had three options: “the balanced Gamechanger, the easier Wayfarer, and the super hard Hellwalker”, and that Hellwalker would be “only unlocked in New Game+ in the full release”. GamingBolt, in August 2026, writes that you are “meant to tackle Hellwalker first” before Sixty-Six Days, and in a bracket that “it’s also available after completing the game on Pathbreaker difficulty”. Whether Hellwalker itself is open from the start in the finished game is still not settled.
See the frame-by-frame breakdown: the difficulty menu in the State of Play deep dive.
Difficulty settings and trophies
On a first playthrough you choose from three settings: Wayfarer, Pathbreaker and Hellwalker. Hellwalker is open from the start: launch reviewers played their first run on it. 66 Days opens only after you finish the game on Pathbreaker or Hellwalker.
| First playthrough | Wayfarer, Pathbreaker or Hellwalker. |
|---|---|
| After a clear | 66 Days: Hellwalker with 66 lives, after a Pathbreaker or Hellwalker clear. |
| Trophies | Every trophy can be earned on any of the first three settings, Wayfarer included, and the platinum in a single playthrough. No trophy asks for 66 Days. |
| Changing it mid-game | Not confirmed by S-GAME, and none of the reviews we read says either way. |
The director said it himself on Bilibili in September 2026: “All achievements in Phantom Blade Zero can be obtained in the first three difficulty levels,” and “Even if you play entirely as a ‘Wayfarer,’ you can still unlock all achievements within a single playthrough.” The first full trophy guide, published on launch day, agrees: the setting does not affect any trophy.
So pick the setting for the fight you want, not for the trophies. Reviewers who finished on Hellwalker found its difficulty uneven, with peaks and valleys, and one beat most of the late bosses on the first try; what each review said is on the reviews page, and the full trophy list is on the trophies page.
What happens when you die in Phantom Blade Zero?
- You wake at the last bell you rang.
- DualShockers: “you don't lose anything upon death”.
- Die in a boss’s second phase and you restart at that phase.
- In Sixty-Six Days mode, each death costs a day, and the run ends at zero.

One earlier report differs: IGN’s 2025 hands-on says every death “costs him one” of Soul’s 66 days. Later reports tie the countdown to Sixty-Six Days mode only; see the time limit page.
How do parries and the blue and red flashes work?
Fights turn on a second meter beside health, Sha-Chi (likely the Chinese name; our match). When an enemy runs out of it, the enemy is breached: its stance breaks and it is left extremely vulnerable.
| Blue flash | A Brutal Move: parry it. “enemies telegraph with a blue light for parrying (Brutal Moves) and a red light for dodging (Killer Moves)” |
|---|---|
| Red flash | A Killer Move: “Red attacks are unblockable, meaning you need to dodge them” |
| The reward | The right answer triggers a Ghostep, “a really slick-looking teleport dodge that leads directly into a counterattack.” |
Weapons, Sha-Chi refills and the rest of the system are on the combat page; individual boss fights are on the bosses page.
What is not yet known
| What Pathbreaker changes | Named on the menu; never described in the sources we read. |
|---|---|
| Switching difficulty mid-game | Not stated. |
| When Hellwalker unlocks | From the start, or after a clear: reports differ. (How 66 Days unlocks is settled by the menu text.) |
| Chinese names of the modes | Not in the sources we read. |
| The full letter | We read Liang’s June 2025 letter only as quoted by Insider Gaming and Push Square, not on X itself. |
Is Phantom Blade Zero like Black Myth: Wukong?
No. Both are single-player Chinese action RPGs from different studios. Phantom Blade Zero came out on 29 October 2026. Black Myth: Wukong came out on 20 August 2024. The line-by-line comparison is on the vs page.
Phantom Blade Zero is S-GAME’s kungfupunk wuxia game, with Soul, a swordsman who has sixty-six days to live. Black Myth: Wukong is Game Science’s game, based on Journey to the West. Neither lists co-op. Read every line on Phantom Blade Zero vs Black Myth: Wukong.
Phantom Blade Zero soulslike FAQ
Is Phantom Blade Zero souls like?
People write the question three ways: souls like, soulslike and souls-like. Steam’s player tag is Souls-like. The answer is the same for all of them.
Is Phantom Blade Zero a soulslike?
Its director says no: it is “neither a Soulslike game nor a traditional action game”. It borrows layered levels, shortcuts and bell checkpoints, but has no XP to lose, keeps defeated enemies dead, and offers four difficulty modes. Steam players still tag it Souls-like.
Is Phantom Blade Zero souls-like?
People write the question three ways: souls like, soulslike and souls-like. Steam’s player tag is Souls-like. The answer is the same for all of them.
Is Phantom Blade Zero like Black Myth: Wukong?
No. Both are single-player Chinese action RPGs from different studios. Phantom Blade Zero came out on 29 October 2026. Black Myth: Wukong came out on 20 August 2024. The line-by-line comparison is on the vs page.
Is Phantom Blade Zero hard?
Previews call it hard but fair. IGN found it hard “even at the default setting”; PC Gamer found even Hellwalker easier than Nioh, and its parry timing easier than Sekiro’s.
What are the difficulty levels in Phantom Blade Zero?
Four, on the in-game menu: Wayfarer, Pathbreaker, Hellwalker and 66 Days (written Sixty-Six Days elsewhere). Wayfarer is the gentle story mode; Hellwalker has adaptive bosses; 66 Days is Hellwalker with 66 lives, unlocked after a Pathbreaker or Hellwalker clear.
Does Phantom Blade Zero have an easy mode?
Yes, Wayfarer: “A gentler path through the Wulin. Focus on the story, take in the world, fight at your own pace.”
What is Hellwalker difficulty?
The hardest regular mode. In S-GAME’s words, bosses “won’t rely on fixed patterns. They react to your spacing, punish your whiffs, and adapt to your habits in real time.”
Do you lose anything when you die?
On the regular modes you lose nothing, according to previews: there is no XP to drop, and you respawn at the last bell. In Sixty-Six Days mode each death costs a day, and the run ends at zero.
Is Phantom Blade Zero like Sekiro or Devil May Cry?
Liang names Devil May Cry, Ninja Gaiden and Metal Gear Rising alongside soulslikes as the two kinds of game the team is merging; from soulslikes he says it borrows level design and some art style. PC Gamer compares its parry with Sekiro’s and finds it easier to land.
Sources for this page 56
- Introduction Press-reported Liang’s developer letter, June 2025, quoted by Insider Gaming and Push Square
- Introduction Press-reported IGN, 2025 hands-on; PC Gamer, August 2025
- Introduction Press-reported Liang’s letter, June 2025
- Introduction Press-reported RPG Site; IGN
- Introduction Press-reported PC Gamer; IGN
- Introduction Official State of Play deep dive, 11:13
- Introduction Official on-screen menu text
- Introduction Store data Steam, read 14 October 2026
- Is Phantom Blade Zero a soulslike? What the developers say Press-reported Insider Gaming and Push Square, 25 June 2025
- Is Phantom Blade Zero a soulslike? What the developers say Press-reported
- Is Phantom Blade Zero a soulslike? What the developers say Press-reported RPG Site, 19 December 2025
- Is Phantom Blade Zero a soulslike? What the developers say Press-reported Inverse, Hayes Madsen, 11 August 2025
- Is Phantom Blade Zero a soulslike? What the developers say Press-reported PC Gamer, Wes Fenlon, 8 August 2025
- Is Phantom Blade Zero a soulslike? What the developers say Press-reported Gamersky interview, 16 July 2024, in Chinese
- Is it a soulslike? What previews say Press-reported
- Is it a soulslike? What previews say Press-reported
- Is it a soulslike? What previews say Press-reported
- Is it a soulslike? What previews say Press-reported
- Is it a soulslike? What previews say Press-reported
- Is it a soulslike? What previews say Press-reported
- Is it a soulslike? What previews say Store data
- What does it borrow from soulslikes? Press-reported IGN, 2025; Game Rant, October 2026
- What does it borrow from soulslikes? Press-reported Game Rant, October 2026
- What does it borrow from soulslikes? Press-reported Push Square, 21 September 2025, from PC Gamer magazine
- What is different from a soulslike? Press-reported PC Gamer, August 2025
- What is different from a soulslike? Press-reported IGN, 2025; PC Gamer
- What is different from a soulslike? Press-reported IGN, 2025
- What is different from a soulslike? Press-reported DualShockers, October 2026; The Outerhaven
- What is different from a soulslike? Official on-screen menu
- Is Phantom Blade Zero hard? Press-reported Fextralife review, 26 October 2026.
- Is Phantom Blade Zero hard? Press-reported IGN, Justin Koreis, 2025
- Is Phantom Blade Zero hard? Press-reported DualShockers, October 2026
- Is Phantom Blade Zero hard? Press-reported Gamersky, October 2026; Zhihu Games writer, reposted on gcores, 2026; both in Chinese
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Official State of Play deep dive, 11:02–11:20, on-screen text
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Official 11:07–11:13
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Official
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Official name only
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Press-reported
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Official 11:19–11:33
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Official 11:51–11:55, on-screen text
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Official 11:51–12:21
- Phantom Blade Zero difficulty modes Press-reported GamingBolt; RPGFan
- Does Phantom Blade Zero have an easy mode? Official on-screen menu text; Unconfirmed switching mid-game
- Earlier and differing accounts Official State of Play deep dive, 11:51, on-screen text
- Earlier and differing accounts Press-reported Push Square, June 2025; GamingBolt, 18 August 2026
- What happens when you die in Phantom Blade Zero? Press-reported The Outerhaven, October 2026
- What happens when you die in Phantom Blade Zero? Official State of Play narration
- How do parries and the blue and red flashes work? Press-reported IGN, 2025; Unconfirmed the Chinese name
- How do parries and the blue and red flashes work? Press-reported RPGFan, October 2026
- What is different from a soulslike? Press-reported DualShockers, October 2026; IGN, 2025; PC Gamer, August 2025; modes from the
- What is different from a soulslike? Official State of Play menu.
- Difficulty settings and trophies Official State of Play deep dive, 11:13: the menu text for 66 Days, “Unlocks after completing PATHBREAKER or HELLWALKER.”
- Difficulty settings and trophies Press-reported Push Square, Stephen Tailby, 11 September 2026, quoting Soulframe Liang’s Bilibili post; the English wording is Push Square’s.
- Difficulty settings and trophies Press-reported PowerPyx trophy guide and roadmap, 29 October 2026: one playthrough, “No, can play on any difficulty.”
- Difficulty settings and trophies Press-reported Fextralife review, 26 October 2026: first playthrough on Hellwalker, “the hardest difficulty you can play on for your first playthrough”; Screen Rant, 25 October 2026: first playthrough completed on Hellwalker.
- Is Phantom Blade Zero like Black Myth: Wukong? Store data Steam page, and Store data the Black Myth: Wukong Steam page. Dates, studios and the no-co-op line are set out on Phantom Blade Zero vs Black Myth: Wukong.